Scorpions Club History

Club History

The first Scorpions team was created in July of 1998 at the South Middle School in Braintree.  Recently hired at Braintree High School Fred Marks wanted to improve the Braintree program by creating a local club that Braintree players could enter to advance their development.  

Although located in close proximity to powerhouse South Coast Girls and other strong clubs Sporting Cristale, KICS, Blazers, Crusaders and South Shore Select the Scorpion teams soon dominated all local competition and statewide competition as well. Teams coached by Fred Marks and Ryan Puntiri soon won USYSA State Cups and many local tournaments. 

Scorpions merged with South Coast Girls (Duxbury) and later with Elite Soccer Academy (Hopkinton). Scorpions were either first, or among the first, to hire full time club employees.  

Many more State Cups were won, 5 Regional Championships and a National Championship 0-1 loss followed.  Tournament Championships at National level tournaments Jefferson Cup, WAGS, PDA, Disney, Players Cup etc. followed. 

Many of the players on these teams entered HS and then college, becoming members of teams at Harvard, Boston College, UCLA, UMass-Amherst, Holy Cross, Boston University, Maryland, Northeastern, Providence, Coastal Carolina, Elon, etc..etc..

Scorpions Alum Samantha and Kristie Mewis have become members of the full US National team. Both Kristie and Sam were drafted in the top 5 of the NWSL in 2013 and 2015. Amy Caldwell, Lauren Berman and Mackenzie Meehan have also all participated with their U.S. Youth National Teams.

Around 2010, under club President Fred Marks and then Director of Coaching Keith Caldwell, Scorpions became members of the nationally prestigious Elite Club National League (ECNL) and have been solid members of that league since.

Scorpions entered into a short lived partnership with local professional team Boston Breakers that ended in 2015.  

 

In 2015 Scorpions merged with FC Greater Boston to become FC Boston.  The girls teams still use the nickname Scorpions on their shirts, the boys still use the Bolts nickname.
 

   In 2016 the Scorpion U14s won the US Club Soccer National
   Cup (Super Group) under coach Mo Keita. 

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

FC Boston Directors & Staff

 Fred Marks      Girls Director   fredmarks@fcboston.org
 Sydney Stoll  Girls Operations, ECNL Liaison     sydneystoll@fcboston.org
 Farid Issa  East Director, NEP Liaison (Girls)   faridissa@fcboston.org
 Danielle Gordon  East Asst Director (Girls)   daniellegordon@fcboston.org
 Nick Rugnetta  MetroWest Director, NPL Liaison (Girls)   nickrugnetta@fcboston.org
 Mo Keita  North Asst. Director      mokeita@fcboston.org
 David Noel  Central Mass Girls Director, Website Director (Girls)   davidnoel@fcboston.org
 John Gillis  Central Mass Girls Director, NEP Liaison (Girls)   john@thegillis.net
 Evan Burokas  Central Mass FT Staff, JA Director (Girls)   evanburokas@fcboston.org
 Tumi Gugushe  Boston Director (Girls)   tumigugushe@fcboston.org
 Darren Burke  Director of Goalkeepers (Girls)       darrenburke@fcboston.org
 Casey Brown  ECNL Development Director   caseybrown@fcboston.org
 Bob Meals  NPL Liaison  (Girls)     coachbobmeals@comcast.net
 Jeb Booth  MetroWest Girls Asst. Director     jbooth@salemstate.edu
 Lisa Reardon  Uniform Coordinator, Girls Registrar   lbreardon@me.com
 Smith Utubor  Treasurer/Controller  (Girls/Boys)     finances@fcboston.org

 

Fred Marks, Brett Rodman, Lisa Reardon and Steve Fiorella represent the former Scorpions club on the 8 member FC Boston Board with Jon Price, Brian Ainscough Elliott Pratt and Mark Thomas appointed from the former FC Greater Boston club.